Department Functions

The recycling and collections subdivision of Georgetown County Environmental Services Division provides citizens a convenient means of recycling and solid waste disposal. The recycling and collections subdivision has 15 manned convenience centers throughout Georgetown County. These facilities collect approximately 14,000 tons of recyclables per year. Find additional information and convenience center hours at the bottom of this page.

Each center provides containers for recycling of the following:

  • Aluminum
  • Batteries
  • Bulk waste
  • Cardboard
  • Cooking oil
  • Glass
  • Newspaper
  • Plastic
  • Scrap metal
  • Steel cans
  • Used oil
  • Waste tires
  • Yard waste

Electronic Waste Facility

Georgetown County's Electronic Waste Centralized Collection Facility is located at the Landfill on Highway 51. Hours of operation are 7:30 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday and 8 am to 4 pm on Saturdays. Materials accepted include:

  • Cable boxes
  • Computers
  • Copiers
  • Mobile phones
  • Monitors
  • Printers
  • Radios
  • scanners
  • Televisions
  • VCRs

Electronic Waste is also accepted at the following convenience centers during normal operating hours found at the bottom of this page:

  • Andrews
  • Johnson Road
  • Murrells Inlet
  • Pawley's Island
  • Pleasant Hill
  • Sampit

Household Hazardous Waste Facility

Georgetown County's Household Hazardous Waste Facility is located at the Landfill Convenience Center on Highway 51. The hours of operation are 7:30 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday and 8 am to 4 pm on Saturdays. Materials accepted include: 

  • Automotive products
  • Cleaning products
  • Lawn and garden care materials (pesticides, fertilizers, etc.)
  • Paint products
  • Other miscellaneous products

Materials not accepted include: 

  • Ammunition
  • Asbestos
  • Bio-hazardous or medical waste
  • Explosives
  • Propane cylinders larger than 16.4 ounces
  • Radioactive material

Commercial Recycling Program

Georgetown County offers a free paper and cardboard recycling program for businesses. The program provides businesses in the County with recycling containers that are picked up weekly via recycling truck. While the commercial recycling program is currently full, please express your interest by filling out the online application form. If you wish, you can mail your application to:
Georgetown County Department of Public Services Division of Environmental Services
P.O. Drawer 421270
Georgetown, SC, 29440

Swap Shops

Georgetown County offers county residents swap shops at the following locations:

  • Landfill
  • Pawleys Island
  • Murrells Inlet

The Swap Shop Program exists to provide an outlet for materials that are still usable and can be diverted from the Landfill. Anyone who is a resident of Georgetown County is welcome to bring materials or to take materials. It is not necessary to do both. Please follow all Swap Shop Rules. Materials must be clean and in good condition. The Swap Shop is a “First Come First Serve” facility. Swap shops will open 30 minutes after the convenience center and close 30 minutes prior to the convenience center closing. Loitering will not be permitted. Residents may visit the swap shops once a day. Swap shops will NOT accept the following items:

  • Toys
  • Mattresses
  • Clothes
  • Shoes
  • Electronics

 Call 843-545-3443 for more information. 

Environmental Education Center

The Georgetown County Environmental Education Center and Nature Center are located at the landfill. These facilities offer a venue for community outreach and environmental education regarding various local and global environmental issues affecting citizens. Education programs include: discussing the importance of Reducing, Reusing, and Recycling; leading eagle tours of the landfill; discussing the significance of local wildlife; how to compost uneaten food; and more!

Call 843-545-3452 for more information.